Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction Longlist Announced!

Today the longlist for the 20th annual Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction was announced.  This award which was organized in reaction to the lack of women authors considered for the Booker Prize despite women authoring significantly more new titles than men awards 30,000 pounds to one woman annually who the committee has determined to have written the best full length fiction novel of the year published in the UK.  The panel of five female judges changes annually and is made up women who are leaders in their respective fields.  This years panel includes Shami Chakrabarti, Cathy Newman, Grace Dent, Helen Dunmore, and Laura Bates.  Look out for the announcement of the shortlist on April 13th!
For more information on the Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction see their website at: http://www.womensprizeforfiction.co.uk/

The Longlist:
Rachel Cusk: Outline
Lissa Evans: Crooked Heart
Patricia Ferguson: Aren’t We Sisters?
Xiaolu Guo: I Am China
Samantha Harvey: Dear Thief
Emma Healey: Elizabeth is Missing
Emily St. John Mandel: Station Eleven
Grace McCleen: The Offering
Sandra Newman: The Country of Ice Cream Star
Heather O’Neil: The Girl Who Was Saturday Night
Laline Paull: The Bees
Marie Phillips: The Table of Less Valued Knights
Rachel Seiffert: The Walk Home
Kamila Shamsie: A God in Every Stone
Ali Smith: How to be Both
Sara Taylor: The Shore
Anne Tyler: A Spool of Blue Thread
Sarah Waters: The Paying Guests
Jemma Wayne: After Before
PP Wong: The Life of a Banana

No comments:

Post a Comment