Thursday, September 23, 2010

Dayton Literary Peace Prize Winners Announced!

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize which was created in 2006 as an offshoot of the Dayton Peace Prize and is the first and only US literary award to recognize the power of the written word to promote peace.  The award is given in the categories of adult fiction and nonfiction book published within the last year.  Books nominated help readers gain an understanding of other cultures, people, religions and political points of view.  Each award carries a $10,000 cash prize.


Nonfiction:  Zeitoun by Dave Eggers 
Fiction: The Book Of Night Women by Marlon James
Runners up:
Nonfiction: In the Valley of Mist by Justine Hardy 
Fiction: The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Adichie 
In addition, historical novelist Geraldine Brooks (People of the Book, March, Year of Wonders) will receive the 2010 Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Lifetime Achievement.

No comments:

Post a Comment