Thursday, September 9, 2010

The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer Awards

The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards made to recognize the contributions of women writers make to our society and culture.  The foundation started by Rona Jaffe, New York Times Bestselling Author, began giving awards in 1995 to support female writers exclusively to help them handle the unique challenges they face.  To date the foundation has given more than $1 million dollars.    Each of the six writers recognized with receive $25,000 dollars to help give them more writing time and provide assistance for costs such as child care, research and travel costs.

The 2010 Winners are as follows:

Hannah Dela Cruz Abrams-Nonfiction

Rachel Aviv- Nonfiction

Sara Elizabeth Johnson-Poetry

Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich- Nonfiction

Laura Newbern- Poetry

Tiphanie Yanique-Fiction

Many past winner have gone on to publish several books in the years immediately following their recognition by the Rona Jaffe Foundation.  Most notable Eula Biss's (winner in 2002) Notes from No Man's Land:American Essays received both the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize and the 2009 National Book Critics Circle Award and Rivka Galchen (winner in 2006 was recently named to the New Yorker's 20 Under 40 list of fiction writers.

No comments:

Post a Comment